Smart Contract Security Series

Favorite_blockchain_lady
2 min readSep 13, 2024

--

I’m thinking of a name to call this series. Let’s leave it at smart contract security serires for now. A name will come up soon.

Hello! It’s good to write here again. I went off on a long break. Grab a cup of water, and pull up a chair. We need to talk about something important- Smart contract Security.

Pet grooming

Picture this: You’ve just created a very brilliant DApp. This DApp is going to change… I dunno, let’s say decentralized pet grooming. (Sounds ridiculous right? Don’t worry, stranger things have happened in crypto!) You’re feeling pretty good about yourself. Launch day comes, and boom! Thousands of users, millions in TVL.
Then it happens. The “It” happens
Some kid in a building halfway across the world finds a tiny flaw (a really tiny flaw)in your code. Before you can say “WAGMI,” your brilliant pet grooming protocol is emptier than the word “Emptier than a cinema on a Monday morning”.

Ouch.

That, my friend, is why we need to talk about smart contract security.

Recently, I have been looking into smart contract security and coming across smart contracts. I’ve seen smart contracts that were as solid as a rock and others that… let’s just say they broke faster than a New Year’s resolution.”

So I thought, “Why not share what I’ve learned?” And here! This article series was born.

Over the next few weeks, months, and probably years, we’re going to look into every aspect of smart contract security. We’ll research, we’ll try to understand, we’ll write some code. By the end, you should be spotting vulnerabilities like… well I dunno, maybe a pro.

First, you should know the fundamentals of blockchain technology and smart contracts, you can check out my other articles to know the basics of smart contracts and how they work.

So, are you ready to join me on this adventure? If you are, watch out! It’s going to be an amazing journey.

Don’t forget to check out my other articles. You would love them. Let’s go get ready for this new adventure.

Thank you.

--

--